Transformation

I am passionate about the seventh art and I increasingly feel that telling stories is my duty. As usual, I decided to make a short film for the next assigment, however my biggest challenge will be to produce a film by myself.

As I was seeking references of supernatural stories for the next activity and, as I am a big fan horror movies, I always try to go further in order to find the most bizarre stories, that’s when I ended up becoming interested in an article that completely caught my attention, suddenly my head opened up and the inspiration that I was looking for was right before my eyes.

My project will be based on the cotard’s syndrome, which is a rare medical condition in which the individual believes to be dead or that his organs are no longer functioning or necrotic, or that his family, friends or the world around him does not exist anymore.

On the left side, Mademoiselle X, first case of cotard’s syndrome. On the right side, Jules Cotard.

The case of Mademoiselle X describes a woman who denied the existence of parts of her body and her need to eat. She said she was doomed to eternal damnation and therefore could not die a natural death. In the course of suffering from Cotard’s syndrome, Mademoiselle X died of hunger.

The script is work in progress, but basically the story is about an individual who suffers from that medical condition, he believes he is dead, and his only function as ghost is to haunt the house where he lives.

It is not yet clear what is the genre of the story, because I am still divided between terror and comedy but based on previous experiences I will let the imagination take care of it and let the story be free, flow naturally and break the cocoon because what is life without transformation?

Bibliography:

Healthline. (2020). Cotard Delusion or Walking Corpse Syndrome: Definition. [online] Available at: https://www.healthline.com/health/cotard-delusion [Accessed 4 Feb. 2020].

Leave a comment